“We the People” are feeling many things. I wrote this poem in a facebook conversation with other writers and poets about the upcoming inauguration and presidency of Donald Trump.

 

Exhaustion takes its turn


Fervor pours from an already near empty cistern


I occupy every man woman and child


I have crawled into the hidey-hole they’ve dug for their fears, into the annexed memories of childhood


Under a dirty dark deck


Into the annexed memories of a mother it comes, fear and searing sadness


The Kohelet claims it is meaningless and it is  but it isn’t in this minute


In this minute it means everything, and it meant everything before


Yet, i
t withers my body to fight


My mind feels like a grave at the sight of the new American demigogue


Fear and searing madness burn my eyes as 140 more characters turn my hope into ghosts

