When I was between the ages of 4 and 5, or 6, I WAS Captain James T. Kirk of the Starship Enterprise.  Not, ‘wanted to be’, WAS.  During certain periods I took it as far as refusing to answer to my own name.  That period mainly is now described with nostalgia and bemusement, though, I’m sure it was maddening at the time.  I don’t really remember….

What I do remember is feeling an absolute and immutable kinship with the character, the man, in my brain at the time.  Like, my soul had been spliced and embedded somewhere else.  Strange to think of….. I sure hope you’re not choking on your drink as you read about these deep feelings from my childhood……… anyway……I even felt endeared to Spock, like I too had groomed a friendship with the seemingly cold and rational vulcan….. 
Anyway, we all know Kirk was an emotive, wanton hothead.  Stealth when needed but generally flailing through circumstances…. today, I’m feelin’ my Kirk side. And wishing I was more Spock than anything….
