Finally some smart people, namely neuroscientists and technology journalists, have begun to call out, our glowish-screen obsessed lifestyles.  And big surprise, they’ve been able to verbalize an identifiable connection between humans being constantly barraged by technology and our neural well being…………

Kinda makes me think of this woman, Sue whom I hosted at the L’Arche home 10 years ago.  I remember late one night I was on Litkicks, quietly writing and listening to music.  She came to my door and pounded–begged me to turn my computer off.  Said she was feeling harassed by all of the technology in the house……especially the Internet connection……
 Turns out she was schizophrenic and anti-social…..
Anyway whenever I’ve spent too much time with any sort of technology, or I know I’ve gotta gear up to spend time…. My whole psyche starts to feel very porous.   I picture my face being sucked, deep into the computer screen.  Like the way a  Dementor let loose from Azkaban, takes a life…….. leaving you mostly dead–and an nth alive… numbed……  your EEG waves, but simpering blips………
So…..back in the rational world, the questioning furthers between New York Times technology journalist, Matt Richtel and NPR’s host of “Fresh Air”, Terry Gross in Digital Overload

