I remember my mom sitting on the side of my bed…. on any given night amidst any given tortured (melodramatic) stretch of my existence–during my childhood years…. during my teenage years…. even now……. in her gentle muted voice, calmly telling me “This time next week you won’t be worried the way you are now”……. “There there there, Lisa Michelle.  It will all be ok”……..

The same mother just a few years ago, confessed quite lightheartedly that her motto was “a little denial never hurt anyone”……  don’t analyze it.   She’s really quite wise……

And most recently, after hearing my list of the pros and cons of moving away to— well, anywhere away from here she suggests, “Well why don’t you just pretend to live another city”.  I literally laughed out loud… through tears, or anger or whatever state of lamentation I was in….. And then, it started to seem like an interesting idea.  A very wise approach…….. so….. there are a few cities that I’ve been dreaming about….. a few states that have been calling for quite sometime…… perhaps Hawaii…. where I took my first steps…… or, California….. in Monterrey….. or some New England town where they hang whales above their doors and go to sleep to ocean sounds……… preferably somewhere where where inevitably….. water meets rock……..

Packing my bags….. let the pretending begin.

