Affirmation….. Seeking…… The desire for God to not keep His face hidden…….. I’ve written a lot and thought a lot about that idea….  that soul searing plea…… 


I can think of face to face conversations with people whom I have loved and cared about deeply…. how….. in the depths of communication, that to and fro partnership of interaction, we seek each other’s faces.  Man or woman, child or elder, if I love you, your face is beaming… transferring into the layers of my heart and memory…. I am literally memorizing the nuances and details of your face…. 


In so many ways…. in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam…. authors cry out….. “Don’t turn away, Oh Lord.  Don’t hide your face……”  I think in a way what they are feeling is what I’ve just described…. that moment where faces are memorized and immutable bonds that over time are permanent……. their visage has become a part of you…..


I can most relate this to my son’s face.  This evening.  Lying face to face….. our little nightly chats where he says “Mommy, instead of you rubbing my legs, let’s talk about our day”……. and dimples and expressions change….. Eyes so baby and blue sparkle with humor…. eyelashes curl innocently with every blink…… love so careful and easy and protected……. Face.  To. Face with my child.


And to rest like that in God’s presence….. His face towards ours….. heavenly……… home.

