i said, “mom, it’s a pretty night to be driving”.  she said, “I know–but it’s too dark.  it feels strange without enough moonlight”.  i wanted to remind her that in the moonlight’s absence, there is room for star’s to hang brightly….  but i didn’t.  wasn’t the time to say…….. i let her have her unrest about the dark…… so many times i feel i’ve read someone’s mind with my own experience….. but when is it ever right to say?

so i went out of my house….. and out of myself to get at that starlight.  took a lie down right there in the driveway.   knees bent……. arms folded behind my head.  thought i heard creeping in the grass….. only to finally know that it was the wind….. rushing in from the north…… like water falling through and over rocks…. it made it’s sweep and tossed the pine branches above my head….. stared in particular at one star.  expecting to be deceived by it’s yellow brightness….. expecting a slow move…… star to satellite in my human realization…….. but no.  just as solid as my faith in the unseen…… that star hung solidly above me….. dropped it’s little line above me and i bit.  bit at faith…. bit at the silence….. bit at the solace that my astral friend, my astral partner in the dark was what i had seen…. before ever taking a step outside…………

and now, as i sit.  typing entombed…. in myself…. centered in by walls….. i do notice from the window that the night’s as solid as the oak trees…. oak trees holding up a black night teepee…… and folded over us all….a canopy of stars…………….

