Thanks to my mother, I have successfully eaten my way through most of a heart shaped plateful of heart shaped, iced sugar cookies from Chako’s

 They’re almost as good as the ones she rolls out herself…………. ‘almost as good’ in ONLY this case is a fine alternative…………..

And my son, who most recently proclaimed that he is “no longer the hugging or kissing type” indulged me in “at least a gazillion” hugs and kisses for Valentine’s Day…………………………. and, bestowed upon me a compliment that will melt a gazillion hearts……. “Oh, I like what you did with your eyes!”  How sweet…………………… on the road to being a man who causes many eyes to bat……….. grrrrrrrr……………..
Valentine’s Day………. the movie………….. which I saw with some friends on Friday….. is definitely um, shall we say………..worthy…….. of the one tiny star it received in many columns………. The fact that it did what it was supposed to do and that there wasn’t enough of any ONE actor to be annoying…..still doesn’t change the fact that I’ll neither see it again, nor recommend it………..to anyone.   Going to this movie was a perfect example of how going to a movie you’d never pick out yourself is ok……. if it’s just to be with other people that you like and make you feel like you……………….. All dignity, movie snobbery and differing tastes aside……….. I’m glad I went………………………………
And so, today………. a ‘half holiday’ as one of my friends recently called President’s day……. means big sales…….. new bedding for the ladies man……………… onward and upward……………
