…. And this morning I was cold.  Again…….  Brain / mood equilibrium sloshing up and down….. high highs…… low lows……  Feeling exasperated with commercials, stores, concrete, street lights, cat food……… choices.  Feeling exasperated at my varying degrees of procrastination…… belittling myself over feeling stuck yesterday…………

And on and on it went through my trip to the drugstore….. trailing behind and hovering above through the check out line into the parking lot.  Got into the car, pushed the ignition forward and instinctually looked to my right.  There was this tan poodle, snout smartly poking through the window and sniffing the air between his car and mine.  I didn’t notice the human passenger until a few seconds later….. I smiled and stared for a second.  This dog was all over the place awesome…… Like he knew something that I didn’t…….. And at least one of his eyes was blue…. the other one was hidden, blinking under some intelligent shag……

The human noticed my smiling and looked back.  I rolled down my window……

“Great looking dog” I appraised.

“Yeeeeeees, M’am! This is buddy!”

I wondered, “Is he a straight up poodle?” (so many mixes these days)

Turns out Buddy came from Humane Society of KCK…… tame and smart, Buddy keeps clock work in his peoples’ lives…..

Strange how this dog made me smile right out of whatever funk I was feeling.  I chatted for a minute or two more with Buddy’s people…… Then backed out and drove home……. They wished me Merry Christmas….. that never happens any more……..

Thought about this dog’s eyes the whole way home….. The way he peered out the window nodding and sniffing….. The way he gave his person a little lick as he described where Buddy had come from…….. The way Buddy perched on his person’s lap, waiting….. silently steering……….

It remains cold outside, but my house was warm when I got home.

