The last book whose cover I cracked then ceremoniously closed on a finish was “Brazil” by John Updike.  Since then (4-5 months ago) I have started and never finished too many books.  I’m not really sure if it’s something to do with my attention span or the books themselves.  I do know that it was becoming extremely frustrating.  Post “Brazil” I remained in the ‘taking in’ mood but for some reason neither classic nor modern fiction with  a twist of mystery could keep me reading….

First came “All Creatures Great and Small” by James Herriot.  Definitely an appealing memoir of a veterinary surgeon making his way through the gales of the English countryside.  This delightfully wise and dear memoir has been making itself a favorite for intelligent readers for most of the last century and beyond…. Could I finish it?? No.
Second, was “Tess of the D’Ubervilles”,  by Thomas Hardy.  Another classic with eloquently written entanglements and a sturdy plot….. Could I get through the first 50 pages? No.
A solid and consistent author came third: Jodi Piccoult, whose dramatic slice of life mysteries always deliver excitement, tears, profound character research and clever plot twists.  Did I read long enough to uncover the twist within “Change of Heart”?? Absolutely not.
Most recently, a friend at work recommended something that happened to have made The New York Times Best Seller list, “City of Bones (Mortal Instruments)”,  by Cassandra Clare.  She went out of her way to bring her hardcover copy to work for me without my asking…. was that enough to force me to read past the first chapter?? No.
So that brings us to last week.  The spines of many already on my shelves, upright and erect had been calling to me for awhile.  In hundreds of accents reaching from the southern U.S shores to South America, voices whispered for me to pick them, pick them, reminding me of glorious times together….  Finally, the husky and determined voice of a british boy wizard, won me over….. how could I say no to Harry??
